Skip to main content
Penn Notables

Awards and Honors Rhodes Scholarships

Rhodes Scholarships, the oldest international fellowships, have been awarded by the Rhodes Scholarship Trust since the death of Cecil Rhodes in 1902. Penn student Ellis T. Robins was among the first group of Americans named as scholars in 1904. The Rhodes Scholarship provides for two years of study at the University of Oxford, England. Students are selected on the basis of a combination of intellectual excellence and personal character offering promise of outstanding service to the world.

This list of Penn undergraduates who have received Rhodes Scholarships was originally compiled by Claire Cowen, Associate Director of International Fellowships at Penn’s Center for Undergraduate Research and Fellowships (CURF), with confirmation from the American Rhodes Scholarship Trust in Washington, D.C.

2021 Mackenzie Fierceton
2020 Stephen Damianos
Nurul Ezzaty Binti Hasbullah (Malaysia)
2019 Anea Moore
2018 Christopher D’Urso
Adnan Zikri Jaafar (Malaysia)
2016 Jennifer Hebert
Adebisi (Debi) Ogunrinde (Canada)
2015 Rutendo Chigora (Zimbabwe)
2010 Sarah-Jane Littleford (Zimbabwe)
2009 Abigail Seldin
2008 Joyce Meng
2006 Brett Shaheen
2005 David Ferreira
2001 Lipika Goyal
1991 Theresa Simmonds
1986 Joseph Torsella
1984 Stephanie Dangel
1969 Patrick M. Norton
1963 John Edgar Wideman
1939 Frederic Ballard
1934 Walter Chudson [Chudnowsky]
1926 William Ezra Lingelbach, Jr.
Milton Charles Nahm
1923 Raymond Harvey Jack
1920 John Valentine Lovitt
1919 John Murdock Clarke
1914 Morrison Comegys Boyd
1908 Richard Schellens
1904 Thomas Ellis Robins