Skip to main content
Penn Notables

University Leaders Heads of the Trustees, 1749-Present

This history was inspired by the chronology found in Martin Meyerson's and Dilys Pegler Winegrad's Gladly Learn and Gladly Teach (1978) but has now been substantially enlarged and interpreted by Mark Frazier Lloyd and Mary D. McConaghy, with the assistance of Michael T. Woods

A complete list of trustees is also available, as well as biographies of all 18th century trustees.

College of Philadelphia

University of the State of Pennsylvania

University of Pennsylvania

  • His Excellency the Governor of the Commonwealth, President ex officio 1791-present
  • William Pepper, President pro tempore in the absence of the Governor 1880-1894
  • Charles Custis Harrison, President pro tempore 1894-1911, Chairman 1911-1923
  • Randal Morgan, Chairman 1923-1926
  • Charles Custis Harrison, Chairman 1926
  • Josiah Harmar Penniman, Chairman 1926-1928
  • Thomas Sovereign Gates, Chairman, Executive Board 1928-1948, Chairman of Trustees 1945-1948
  • Robert Thompson McCracken, Chairman 1948-1956
  • Alfred Hector Williams, Chairman 1956-1961
  • Wilfred Donnell Gillen, Chairman 1961-1968
  • William Lang Day, Chairman 1968-1973
  • Robert Galbraith Dunlop, Chairman 1974-1974 (acting)
  • Donald Thomas Regan, Chairman 1974-1978
  • Paul Fetterolf Miller, Jr., Chairman 1978-1986
  • Alvin Varner Shoemaker, Chairman 1986-1994
  • Pindaros Roy Vagelos, Chairman 1994-1999
  • James S. Riepe, Chairman 1999-2009
  • David L. Cohen, Chairman 2009-2021
  • Scott L. Bok, Chairman 2021-