Skip to main content
Penn History

There are three research degrees offered by the University of Pennsylvania:

  • Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.), offered since 1882
  • Master of Arts (A.M.), offered since 1891
  • Master of Science (M.S.), offered since 1891

These three modern research degrees are offered and awarded as University-wide degrees requiring University-wide standards. Since 1976, the Graduate Council of the Faculties has served as the chief advisory body to the Provost on the oversight of graduate education at Penn. For additional information on the history of research degrees prior to that time, consult Research Degrees: A Brief History. The names of Penn’s research degrees and the dates during which they were offered or awarded are listed here by school, in chronological order, according to the date of the first degree granted.