Skip to main content
Penn Notables

Awards and Honors National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science is the nation’s highest scientific honor. Established by Congress in 1959, it was intended to be bestowed annually by the President of the United States on a select group of individuals deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions

Congress expanded this definition in 1980 to recognize outstanding work in the social and behavioral sciences. In 1962, President John F. Kennedy awarded the first Medal of Science to the late Theodore Von Karman, professor emeritus, California Institute of Technology.

2010 Ralph Lawrence Brinster, Richard King Mellon Professor of Reproductive Physiology
2007 Fay Ajzenberg-Selove, Professor Emerita of Physics
2001 Raymond Davis, Jr., Research Professor of Physics and Astronomy
2000 Ralph S. Hirschmann, Rao Makineni Professor of Bioorganic Chemistry
1983 Robert L. Schrieffer, Professor of Physics
1982 Mildred Cohn, Professor of Biophysics and Physical Biochemistry
1975 Paul Gyorgy, Professor of Pediatrics, School of Medicine
1974 Britton Chance, Professor of Biophysics