Skip to main content
Penn Notables

Awards and Honors German Marshall Fund of the United States

The German Marshall Fund of the United States (GMF) is an American institution that stimulates the exchange of ideas and promotes cooperation between the United States and Europe in the spirit of the postwar Marshall Plan. GMF was created in 1972 by a gift from Germany as a permanent memorial to Marshall Plan aid.

Through its work in the United States and Europe, GMF has pursued its founding mission to create a closer understanding between partners on both sides of the Atlantic. GMF’s programs promote the study of international and domestic policies, support comparative research and debate on key issues, and assist policy and opinion leaders’ understanding of these issues.

1988: Bruce M. Kogut

1986: Fred Block and Peter Cappelli

1980: Richard Marston

1970: Clyde W. Summers