Skip to main content
Penn History

Degrees offered and awarded by the University of Pennsylvania Law School (1850-2003) in chronological order:

Name of Degree Abbreviation Years in which the degree was offered or awarded
Bachelor of Laws LL.B. 1852-1969
Master of Laws LL.M. 1889-present
Doctor of Juridical Science (or Doctor of the Science of Laws, or Doctor of the Science of Law, or Doctor of Science of Laws) S.J.D. 1955-present
Master of Comparative Laws (or Master of Comparative Law) LL.C.M. 1956-present
Juris Doctor J.D. 1967-present