## University of Pennsylvania Board of Trustees Meeting of the Board of Trustees

January 4, 2024

## **MINUTES**

A meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania was convened at 7:19 p.m., on Thursday, January 4, 2024, via video conference.

Trustees participating: Julie Beren Platt (Interim Chair), Laura J. Alber, Bonnie Miao Bandeen, Michael L. Barrett, Brett H. Barth, Allison Weiss Brady, William P. Carey II, Gilbert F. Casellas, Lee Spelman Doty, Alberto I. Duran, David Ertel, Christopher H. Franklin, James H. Greene, Jr., Wendy Holman, George KL Hongchoy, Osagie O. Imasogie, J. Larry Jameson, Kevin Johnson, Athena Karp, Massi Khadjenouri, Andrea Berry Laporte, Joan Lau, William P. Lauder, Catherine M. O'Hern Lyons, Patricia Martín, Marc F. McMorris, Ofer Nemirovsky, Dhananjay M. Pai, Cheryl Peisach, Kevin S. Penn, Richard C. Perry, Krista M. Pinola, Michael J. Price, Andrew S. Rachleff, Ramanan Raghavendran, Ann Reese, Katherine Stein Sachs, Adele K. Schaeffer, Theodore E. Schlein, Alan D. Schnitzer, Jodi J. Schwartz, Julie Brier Seaman, John P. Shoemaker, Stacey G. Snider, Robert M. Stavis, Richard W. Vague, George A. Weiss, Jill Topkis Weiss, and Paul Williams

Administrators and other guests participating: Kathleen Shields Anderson, William Andresen, Sara S. Bachman, Mark Bangela, Mark Bendas, Douglas Berger, Elise M. Betz, Ben Binday, Dawn Bonnell, Kathryn Bonner, Pierce Buller, Melissa Calvert, Craig R. Carnaroli, Elea Castiglione, Leo Charney, Allison Chiacchiere, Jeffrey Cooper, Tina Skov Cowan, Anna Cowenhoven, Ali S. Cudby, Ellie Davis, Nadina Deigh, Karen Detlefsen, Ben Dibling, Russell DiLeo, Debra Dionis, Lee Dobkin, Sam Duplessis, Jean Findlay, Steve Fluharty, Emma Foley, Robert Fox, Jack Franklin, Heather Frattone, Matthew Geraghty, Kathryn Griffo, Erika Gross, Laurie Hall, Tracy Hawkins, Robert Helfman, Jack Heuer, Barbara Hewitt, Charles Howard, Jim Husson, Erika James, Patrick Killilee, Trevor Lewis, Marc Lo, Shripriya Mahesh, Kevin Mahoney, Blair Mannix, Mike Marco, Alison McGhie, Lisa Millman, Joann Mitchell, Jared Mitovich, Amanda Mott, Thomas Murphy, Roopashree Narasimhaiah, Medha Narvekar, Tina O'Rourke, Oshuwa Osiemi, Anne Papageorge, Laura Perna, Donna Piarulli, Leah Popowich, Katherine Primus, Maryellen Reilly, Deborah Rhebergen, Lizann Boyle Rode, Allison Rose, Alanna Wren Shanahan, Anthony Sorrentino, Donna Stalker, Laura Tepper, Loraine Terrell, Alex Toner, Frank Tresnan, Elaine Varas, Antonia Villarruel, John Wahl, Laura Weber, Brigitte Weinsteiger, Keren White, Wendy White, Kristin Winch, Beth A. Winkelstein, Marie Witt, Mark Wolff, and Seth Zweifler

Interim Chair Julie Beren Platt called the meeting to order and thanked attendees for joining.

Ms. Platt began by stating that following many weeks of deliberation, and numerous thoughts and insights shared by Trustees, the Nominating Committee met earlier today and is prepared to make its recommendation for a new Chair of the Trustees: Ramanan Raghavendran.

Ms. Platt described Mr. Raghavendran as a true University citizen who has degrees from three Penn Schools—Engineering, Wharton, and the School of Arts and Sciences. She noted that he has been a Trustee for ten years and has served as Chair of the Local, National, and Global Engagement Committee and as a member of the Executive Committee.

Ms. Platt noted Mr. Raghavendran's wide range of experiences as a Penn volunteer, including many years on the School of Arts and Sciences Board of Advisors, its Executive Committee, and as its current Chair. She stated that he has also been very active in Alumni Relations and with Penn's Center for the Advanced Study of India.

Noting his extensive background as a Penn volunteer leader, Ms. Platt asserted that Mr. Raghavendran is the best person to lead the Board of Trustees at this time. She expressed gratitude to Mr. Raghavendran for his willingness to serve in this important role.

Ms. Platt called for a motion to approve the appointment of Ramanan Raghavendran as Chair of the Board of Trustees, effective January 4, 2024.

The following Resolution was presented and unanimously approved (full Resolution text is appended):

Action 1 Resolution to Elect Chair of the Board of Trustees.....page 1

Ms. Platt congratulated Mr. Raghavendran.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:23 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Medha Narvekar

Vice President and University Secretary

Meshe Nawekay

## Resolution to Elect Ramanan Raghavendran as Chair of the Board of Trustees

With the resignation of Scott L. Bok as Chair of the Board of Trustees, the Trustees wish to elect Ramanan Raghavendran as Chair.

**RESOLVED**, that Ramanan Raghavendran be elected Chair of the Board of Trustees, effective January 4, 2024.