University of Pennsylvania Board of Trustees Meeting of the Executive Committee

December 12, 2023

MINUTES

A meeting of the Executive Committee of the Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania was convened at 2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, December 12, 2023, via video conference.

Trustee committee members participating: Julie Beren Platt (Interim Chair), Bonnie Miao Bandeen, Michael L. Barrett, David S. Blitzer, James G. Dinan, Osagie O. Imasogie, Marc F. McMorris, Dhananjay M. Pai, Ramanan Raghavendran, Alan D. Schnitzer

Administrators and other guests participating: Jannah S. Abdul-Aziz, Betty Adler, Imani Ali, Kenneth Allen, Bill Andresen, Kenisha Askew, Will Atkins, Katie Baillie, Nathan Beachey, Mark R. Bendas, Douglas Berger, Taylor Berkowitz, Corey Berman, Elise Betz, Jackson Betz, Ben Binday, Nadia Bley, Chris Bradie, Christine Brown, Kristin Brudy, Lyndsi Burcham, Jessie Burns, Melissa Calvert, Jennifer Canose, Kimberly Charlier, Leo Charney, Allison Chiacchiere, Tula Childs, Ava Cima, Mike Citro, Molly Cohen, Maricar Collins, Jeffrey Cooper, Mary Correll, Tina Cowan, Anna Cowenhoven, Tara Davies, Eleanor Davis, Liza Davis, Dawn Deitch, Lisa Deming, Russell Di Leo, Mark Dingfield, Benoit Dubé, Sam Duplessis, Janet Dwyer, Jada Simone Eible Hargro, Brian Elmore, Diane Fassett, Steve Fluharty, Brenda Fraser, Danny Freeman, Steven Gagné, Alisha George, Matthew Geraghty, Angela Golub, Josh Green, Natalie Green, Amber Grier, Kathryn Griffo, Erika Gross, Christopher Gruits, Ashlee Halbritter, Laurie Hall, Ryan Hampton, Elizabeth Hansen, Katie Heer, Margaret Heer, Richard Herendeen, John J. Heuer, Joe Holden, Michael Horgan, Camille Hosman, Jeff Howell, Zehra Husain, James Husson, Kristen Jacobs, John Jemmott, Kate Johnstone, Taja Jones, Rahul Kapoor, Keith Kasper, Daniel Katzenberg, Nadene Kelley, Mary Kennedy-Bart, Mark Kocent, Karu Kozuma, Michael Krone, Rachel Kurlander, Jenny Laden, Michelle Lai, Richard Le, Julia K. Ledwell, Trevor C. Lewis, Jessa Lingel, Helen Logan, Austin Lutz, Felicia Lynn, Kevin Mahoney, Hannah Malloy, Mike Marco, Anthony Martino, Anita Mastroieni, Alison Matejczyk, Alison McGhie, Billie McGrane, Jonathan Melitski, Lou Metzger, Carolyn Miller, Paul Mischler, Joann Mitchell, Amanda Mitchell-Boyask, Jared Mitovich, Amanda Mott, Diana Mutz, Roopa Narasimhaiah, Medha Narvekar, Chelsea E. Nicolais, Maryann O'Leary Salas, Vidya Pandiaraju, Anne Papageorge, Desmond Patton, Cynthia Paul, John Paul, Ericka Peterson, Mary Ann Piccolo, Steve Predjulek, Gary Purpura, Shane Pyle, Sheila Raman, Carolyn Rasp, Danielle Rehr, Maryellen Reilly, Catharine Restrepo, Deborah Rhebergen, Paul Richards, Campbell Robertson, Lizann Boyle Rode, Juan Llamas Rodriguez, Allison Rose, Joe Russo, Linda Schleifer, Matthew Schnitzer, Jason Schwartz, Dan Scolnick, Heather Seitz, Dawn Senter, Nitin Seshadri, Xavier Shankle, David Shildt, Michael Smith, Nicholas Smith, Whitney Soule, Donna Stalker, Robert M. Stavis, Yena Suh, John Swartley, Wylie Thomas, Frank J. Tresnan, Xime Trujillo, Paul Umbriac, Kimber VanSant, Chris Vene, Jo-Ann Verrier, Patrick Walsh, Nancy Waxman, Tom Weiler, Brigitte Weinsteiger, Ayanna Williams, Kristin Winch, Paul Wingle,

Marie D. Witt, Mark S. Wolff, Christopher Woods, Ethan Young, Wan Yu Tan, Liza Zagacki, Eszter Zimanyi, and Seth Zweifler

Interim Chair Julie Beren Platt called the meeting to order and welcomed attendees. She stated the purpose of the meeting is to consider a Resolution regarding the appointment of an Interim President.

Ms. Platt thanked Elizabeth Magill for her service to the University, indicating that with the resignation of Ms. Magill as President, the Trustees wish to appoint Dr. J. Larry Jameson as Interim President, a position which he will hold until a permanent President is appointed.

Ms. Platt noted that Dr. Jameson has served as Executive Vice President of the University of Pennsylvania for the Health System and Dean of the Raymond and Ruth Perelman School of Medicine, which together comprise Penn Medicine, since 2011. Calling Dr. Jameson a consummate University citizen, Ms. Platt noted that he is the longest serving current Dean, as well as a collaborative, innovative, and visionary leader with extensive engagement with each of Penn's 12 Schools.

Ms. Platt called for a motion to approve the appointment of Dr. J. Larry Jameson as Interim President, effective today, December 12, 2023.

The following Resolution was presented and approved (full Resolution text is appended):

Action 1 Resolution to Appoint Interim Presidentpage 1

Ms. Platt conveyed the appreciation of the Trustees and the entire Penn community to Dr. Jameson for his willingness to serve in this important role, adding that Penn is fortunate to have the benefit of his experience and leadership during this time of transition.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:03 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Medha Narvekar

Vice President and University Secretary

Meshe Nawekas

Resolution to Appoint J. Larry Jameson as Interim President

With the resignation of M. Elizabeth Magill as President, the Trustees wish to appoint J. Larry Jameson as Interim President effective today until such time as a President is named.

RESOLVED, that J. Larry Jameson be appointed Interim President of the University upon the resignation of M. Elizabeth Magill effective today, December 12, 2023, until such time as a President is named.